shape
carat
color
clarity

Gut check on local jeweler

Civnhasy

Rough_Rock
Hi PSers,

I am about to purchase a strand from Takahashi (very excited! they are wonderful!) and am asking for them to be sent unstrung. I am also getting two pearls to be made into earrings.

I am a relative newbie to the jewelry world...pearls are really my only foray. So I don't have a relationship with a local jeweler, and as much as I've been reading, I'm just not educated enough to know what is true and what is someone trying to blow smoke, and hope you can help me.

I called some local jewelers about knotting and found one who sounded great, reviews great, well established, etc. We had a nice conversation. He asked if I could have Takahashi pre-drill/half-drill holes for the earrings. Takahashi said of course, and asked me to specify the size of drill hole. I had assumed there was a standard size but am realizing that's not the case (and it makes sense that it would depend on the type of post [finding?] I want to use - and I dont yet know what I want). Should also note that these pearls are circled/semi baroque and will be made into dangles so it's not something straightforward like a stud.

I called the jeweler back today for some clarification about drilling. I spoke to someone else this time, and basically got some red flags...first he said that "there absolutely is a standard size [for earrings] and I'm surprised they told you there wasnt" -- but couldn't tell me what size that would be. He more or less admitted I could bring to them to drill, but he would rather the vendor do it in case it chips the nacre (I'm assuming this means they dont do it often and don't want the liability - so yikes, I probably dont want them doing it anyway), and then he shockingly made a xenophobic comment that officially trashed the conversation and future relationship for me.