shape
carat
color
clarity

How do I select a diamond that "faces up" large for its carat weight?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

summertime

Shiny_Rock
Hi everyone,

If you haven''t seen some of my other posts, I''m going to be looking for an AGS0 H SI1, .9-.95 ct Princess. I was wondering what I can do to make sure I select a diamond that "faces up" well, so that I don''t end up paying for carat weight that I can''t enjoy. I was thinking of a depth of less than 70%. Any suggestion/advice offered would be great! Thanks in advance!
1.gif

I'm not a princess expert but I would go with a lower depth than than 70%. Something around 67 - 68% if you want it to face up large. Good luck finding your perfect stone!

I don''t know princesses for detail...but had the impression that ones cut to earn AGS0 did tend to be deep, as a function of the design.

Otherwise...not sure if this might help...if you use the "in-house" search tool, you will get an analysis of spread. I see that of the 16 that appear there, 15 are from WF, all ranging from - 10 to -20 Tolkowski.

Date: 12/10/2008 12:36:31 AM
Author:summertime
Hi everyone,

If you haven't seen some of my other posts, I'm going to be looking for an AGS0 H SI1, .9-.95 ct Princess. I was wondering what I can do to make sure I select a diamond that 'faces up' well, so that I don't end up paying for carat weight that I can't enjoy. I was thinking of a depth of less than 70%. Any suggestion/advice offered would be great! Thanks in advance!
1.gif
Hi Summer.

In a princess cut there is no direct relationship between depth% and spread. The same is true for other fancy-shapes. A round has only 3 main angles, so its spread is strongly influenced by changes in depth. Fancies are much more variable. Take the princess cut simulations below:

Spread for each one is 6.00 mm. See how that spread can remain the same while the depth and carat weight change: