shape
carat
color
clarity

Lots of questions, novice here!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

lilylover

Shiny_Rock
Hey, guys! Up until early today I had no idea this place even existed. It seems fantastic!

On to the point, I am going to be (hopefully!) getting engaged within the next year. I have started looking for what style/size I want, and I am thinking I am going to suggest that my BF gets the ring from Blue Nile. My mother got a .91 cushion, F color, VS1 clarity set in platinum band with pear side stones wtih TCW of .25 from Blue Nile, and it''s gorgeous. She paid a little over 5,000 for the ring.. so I''ve been very impressed with BN thus far.

I have a few basic questions that I''d like some opinions on:

1) What size should I get? I know this is hard for anyone to answer for me, but I am clueless...I don''t wear jewelry besides earings. I have thin, long fingers. I wear a ring size of 4.5-5. I want something that looks elegant, not too flashy but still substantial. I am thinking a RB center stone of a TCW around .70. I am hoping to get one with VS2 clarity or better with a very good cut and at least a G color.

2) What about the setting? I have a few settings on BN that I really like.
http://www.bluenile.com/diamond-engagement-ring-setting-platinum_7491?filter_id=1&collection_id=236
http://www.bluenile.com/diamond-engagement-ring-platinum_7812?filter_id=1&collection_id=236
http://www.bluenile.com/diamond-engagement-ring-setting_8019?filter_id=1&collection_id=239
http://www.bluenile.com/diamond-engagement-ring-setting-white-gold_5338?filter_id=1&collection_id=236

The band mm ranges from 1.8 - 2.5 on them. Would 1.8 be too thin? I''d like a thinner band to compliment my small fingers, but I''m not sure if that''d be too small.