shape
carat
color
clarity

Tanzanite ring question

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

zsusana

Rough_Rock
I have done extensive research on tanzanite and it seems that this item:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=10267&item=4956598187&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW

is a good value for the money, perhaps even too good, which is why I am posting here, in hopes of getting some second and third opinions on the ring. I realize that you can''t wear a tanzanite ring everyday, and I would probably have the stone re-set, as it does not look protected, and because I do not like the style of this setting.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I have to decide what to do within a few days.

Thanks,
Elizabeth

I have a few peices of tanzanite jewelry, but I am no expert on the stone. I think that one you posted looks more like a sapphire because it is so blue. I prefer the purplish tanzanites myself.

It looks beautiful (in the picture) to me. The larger the tanzanite the easier it is for the color saturation to be good. Since this is a relatively large stone it is not as rare to see good saturation as it would be in a smaller stone. The seller's feedback looks good and she has been a seller as well as a buyer. I think it's great to find a tanzanite that looks like a sapphire!

I am not a gemologist or a gem expert, just a consumer who owns some colored stones (including one piece of tanzanite set in a ring). I wouldn't want you to buy something based only on my opinion...but, for what it's worth, my opinion is that it looks great.