carat
color
clarity

Tell Me an Example of When You Loved AI

monarch64

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
AI as in “artificial intelligence.”

I’m a writer, and people in my field are increasingly worried about AI. My opinion is that it will change things, and my hope is that those changes will be beneficial to us all.

I was just doing a very random google search for my niece’s zodiac sign (a zodiac-themed candle was on sale at Anthropologie), and the first result was very informative; I didn’t even have to open a link or read through a terribly-written blog post full of pop-ups and pictures to glean everything I wanted to know! That made me happy, but I wonder how others feel about things like this?

What do you all think about AI and how it will affect your future/your industry?

From the gut with no analysis. I think it will make us lazier, dumber, and more vulnerable to incorrect info than we are currently. When AI becomes intelligent enough to sift out all of the mistakes humans made training it, then it will be smarter than us and I'm not sure whether that's a good or a bad thing for humans. We have a tendency to do things because we can with not enough forethought about potential consequences and how they could be avoided/resolved and that tendency is my biggest concern regarding AI.

And then there's AIs own assessment of its cons:

AI Overview

Artificial intelligence (AI) has many potential disadvantages, including:

• Job displacement
    AI-driven automation may replace human labor in industries where tasks can be easily automated, leading to job losses. A 2023 Goldman Sachs report estimates that AI could automate around two-thirds of US occupations and eliminate 300 million full-time jobs.

• Bias and discrimination