shape
carat
color
clarity

help me understand Victorian classification for earrings?

MiniMinerva

Shiny_Rock
Hi everyone! I was wondering if you antique experts on here might be able to help tell me more about these little 14K moonstone earrings that I have a crush on that are classified as Victorian (1880s). I’m pretty new to antique jewelry and I’d love to understand the design elements that suggest they are from this particular time period. Is it the prongs? Shape? Construction? Would they have been handmade? Any info would be much appreciated as I stalk them!

IMG_1653.jpegIMG_1651.jpegIMG_1654.jpegIMG_1655.jpeg

The style doesn’t resemble any Victorian earrings or ring settings that I’ve seen. You could try looking in the online archives of the Victoria and Albert Museum to see if there are any similar examples: https://www.vam.ac.uk/collections?type=featured

If your search turns up empty, then buy them if you love the style, regardless of whether they’re antique or not.

The style doesn’t resemble any Victorian earrings or ring settings that I’ve seen. You could try looking in the online archives of the Victoria and Albert Museum to see if there are any similar examples: https://www.vam.ac.uk/collections?type=featured

If your search turns up empty, then buy them if you love the style, regardless of whether they’re antique or not.

Thank you for sharing that resource! It seems your hunch was right, as I couldn’t find anything in the archives bearing any resemblance to these earrings. They’re being sold by a vendor on the list in the sticky so I could maybe try reaching out to them this week.

Is there anything notable about their construction (regardless of age/period) that you observe based on your experience? I feel I’m still a bit on the fence overall, but antique vs. not wouldn’t necessarily be a dealbreaker.