shape
carat
color
clarity

Help with diamond purchase

Ashley Hoffman

Rough_Rock
I am considering purchasing this diamond. I have been reviewing diamonds now for the last 1-2 months, researching precision cuts and hearts and arrows patterns, learning about complementary crown angles and pavilion angles, table and depth percentages and everything in between. I’ve been looking at many different options from online vendors to local jewelry stores.

I have found this diamond which may work well and it is in my price range. The pavilion angle is on the high side for this crown angle though, and the surface graining needs to be evaluated in person. I am to see it soon to evaluate the stone on an in house ASET viewer at a local jewelry store since no electronic image is available and see if the surface graining is any issue.

Based on the GIA report and this only high definition still image that is available, would this diamond give you pause to purchase or could it be a good option?

What advice can you give to evaluate surface graining? What magnification is best and what lighting situations to use? If there is surface graining, do I need to worry about internal graining if it’s not mentioned on the GIA report?
IMG_3302.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_3301.jpeg
    IMG_3301.jpeg
    147 KB · Views: 56
it's not well executed cut.... Also has a black crystal on the table (see video) so might not be eye clean... The off cut and table crystal should be reflected in a heavily discounted $ price vs other non Fluor D Si1....

Last edited:
Thank you for your reply!

What makes you say the cut is not well executed? I’d love to learn. Thanks!

why don't you give us your size, color, clarity requirements and budget and people will be happy to look for you and perhaps suggest something that they think is better.