shape
carat
color
clarity

Really need some advice

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

jjc

Brilliant_Rock
I've been struggling with a very serious situation, and I could really use some unbiased advice on how to proceed. I don't know if anyone remembers my story, but in a nutshell, my dad is an extremely abusive and mentally unstable person. My mom is finally going to leave him, and this presents a huge safety issue, as he will come after her with a blind fury that I've been fearing since I was 4. We are making arrangements to make sure that she is safe, but when he can't find her, he will undoubtedly be coming after me. I've made some arrangements for my safety as well, however, I am currently in my second year of law school, and my parents (at his insistence) now live across the street from my school, so him following me is definitely a huge concern. Needless to say, I'm in a very difficult position, as law school alone is a huge undertaking, without also having to worry about my safety every time I go to campus. Also, I've missed quite a bit of class already, and I just can't bring myself to care about studying while I'm trying to prepare for every scenario that might happen with my dad. To add another twist, everyone in my support network is insisting that I push through and not 'let him take this from me again,' as I've had to leave law school another time before (a different school, and an experience that I LOVED) because of a similar situation with my dad. This time around, my dedication and drive has definitely not been the same, and rather than letting him take something from me, I'm starting to feel like I don't want to force myself to do something I don't want to do anymore. My whole life has been about survival, and pushing through and doing things I didn't want to to do in order for him not to 'win.' But all that's gotten me is exhaustion and things I've pushed down, catching up with