shape
carat
color
clarity

Smartest way to set opal?

Hello all,

I'm tentatively planning a design for my black opal. I have a sort of unique halo in mind, but I keep going back and forth as to which would be safer... bezel setting or prong setting. Naturally, a bezel would provide more protection in the long run, but I worry about the actual setting process. I'm fairly new to opals (as far as owning, but I've studied them). Do most folks bezel? Is that pretty standard with opals? Or do most prong set? Orrr is it split? TIA!

Autumn

Noooo no bezel for that gorgeous stone

You have so many rings are you really going to bang it around to the point where you need a bezel?

I have an irrational hatred of bezels though………

Same! I feel like no matter how well-executed, I'm losing visible surface area.
nuts.gif

yssie

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Caysie was leery of bezelling any of mine for exactly the same reason - worry about the setting process! She felt that any metal “safe” to use to bezel my opals, like silver or high-karat gold, probably wouldn’t be strong enough to keep them secure.

I vote prongs, a halo will be protective and prongs will both give you peace of mind during mounting and show off more of your stone!! ::)

Starstruck8

Brilliant_Rock
Well, I've bezelled mine in 18K yellow gold. But mostly because that's my go-to style. Also, it's conventional for a man's ring. I trust my jeweller - I had him bezel an emerald, which much have given him conniptions!

But for you, I think prongs and a halo would (besides being safer) look spectacular and show off the opal better.

missyc

Rough_Rock
I love bezels, but I also vote prongs for opals! I have boulder opal bezel ring and a black opal prong-set ring. I definitely prefer my prong-set ring more! (and maybe because of the quality of the stone :lol:)

LilAlex

Ideal_Rock
Premium