shape
carat
color
clarity

Asscher questions

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

JustOne

Rough_Rock
First of all, I would like to say this is a great forum. I have been lurking for about a month and learned a lot already. I am in the market for an engagement ring with a budget of about $8,000 total. My girlfriend has shown great interest in the Asscher cut, solitaire platinum setting, so that is what I am seeking. I have no experience with diamonds other than what I have learned here in the past month.

I would like to ask a few questions.
1) The first one is stupid, but I have been unable to find a definitive answer - What is the correct pronunciation of Asscher?
2) Is it even reasonable for a novice to attempt to buy an Asscher without seeing it in person?
3) From various threads on here, I have come up with the following as desirable specs for the Asscher... VS2 or better, G or better, Table 55%-61%, Depth 66%-73%, Crown 10%-15%, LW close to 1. Does anyone have additional input on these numbers? Are there other parameters that I should be looking for?
4) From what I understand, even if the stone falls within the desirable parameters, it may not look so great in person. Why?

Thanks for reading. I would sincerely appreciate any advice that anyone can provide.

Your on the right track.
With asschers/se a good picture is worth a thousand words.
The numbers give you less than 20% of the info you need.

It is possible to buy awesome asschers over the net but you have to get one that is willing to provide enough information.
Id start with:

www.goodoldgold.com

and
www.whiteflash.com

Ok, lets see if I can help....

Answers:

1. The correct pronunciation if ash-er.

2. If you do your research, it is possible for a novice to buy a diamond over the net. Use your resources wisely. Everyone here is more than willing to help you...